Contentment

Narrated Abu Huraira ؓ: The Prophet ﷺ said, “Riches does not mean, having a great amount of property, but riches is self-contentment.”  (Sahih Bukhari, Book #76, Hadith #453)

Narrated ‘Amr bin Taghlib ؓ: Some property or something was brought to Allah’s Apostle ﷺ and he distributed it. He ﷺ  gave to some men and ignored the others. Later he ﷺ got the news of his being admonished by those whom he had ignored. So he ﷺ glorified and praised Allah and said, “Amma ba’du. By Allah, I may give to a man and ignore another, although the one whom I ignore is more beloved to me than the one whom I give. But I give to some people as I feel that they have no patience and no contentment in their hearts and I leave those who are patient and self-contented with the goodness and wealth which Allah has put into their hearts and ‘Amr bin Taghlib is one of them.” Amrؓ added, By Allah! Those words of Allah’s Apostle ﷺ are more beloved to me than the best red camels.

(Sahih Bukhari, Book #13, Hadith #45)

